Srutineering 29th August

stoo23

Srutineering 29th August

Post by stoo23 »

Firstly, my apologize for perhaps 'initially' Reducing some people's "FUN level" on the night BUT I Was asked to scrutineer and much like virtually ANY Slot Car Race I have attended in My whole life, one NEEDS to turn up with a car that 'Complies' with the Rule Set.

It is one thing to point out slight errors and allow a total Newbie to join in and race on the night, if the error is minimal etc but seriously guys, NOT for 'Seasoned' racers ;)

One thing though (and this would obviously need checking and confirming), I am unsure about the Calipers used on the night as they were NOT mine but in saying that, they Did Zero regularly and show 'repeatable' Dimensions when measuring, so Must be within 'Cooee' ;) :)
NB: I'll bring my MITUTOYO's next time !! :) :D

As far as 'suggesting' Foxy had made an Error in the Rules as posted on the ASCRA site, well, having known, raced with and enjoyed the friendship of Mark since we were 15, I can 'Guarantee' that would Not be the case and you would have received a far Sterner and louder response from him 'on the night' than myself, especially (as can easily be seen from the images below), it was a case of 'misreading' of the Rules that caused the apparent 'Issue'.

Honestly guys, the Rules governing overall Width of the Axle/Wheel Combo 'Track or Spur' (as some refer to it) and Chassis have been 3.125" since the Class's inception, ONLY F1 is Wider at 3.250".

This Width, is clearly detailed right up at the Top of the Retro CanAm rules page, whereas the Dimension 'Pointed out to myself' last night is the 'Maximum Width' (of the Body) Measured, Across the Wheel Arches and is further down the page IN the Section governing the Body.

See below:

Retro Rules_2.PNG
Retro Rules_2.PNG (111.31 KiB) Viewed 1272 times
Retro Rules_1.PNG
Retro Rules_1.PNG (217.57 KiB) Viewed 1272 times